CMBP Training Grant/CRB symposium a Success

Our first annual CMBP Training Grant/CRB symposium last held Tuesday was a great success thanks in large part to your enthusiastic response and participation. The talks and poster session presentations were all outstanding and we hope you enjoyed both the scientific and informal interactions throughout the day. The day was capped by the presentation by Executive Dean and Vice Provost Joseph Steinmetz to Dan Schoenberg of the first annual Excellence In RNA Biology Award for his “seminal scientific contributions and tireless efforts in establishing the Center for RNA Biology.” Congratulations Dan! Please see the attached photo.

The RNA Center Fellows (Andrea McCue, Hui-Yi Chu, Yu Zhang, Daniel Comiskey, Rebecca Williams-Wagner, Julie Dougherty, Christopher Jones, Kate Ehrensberger, Jamie Wolfe, Jonathan Picking, Sean McClory, Brian Smith) and CMBP Trainees (Ian Fleming, Tami Coursey, Brittany Suggs, Dalen Fultz, Douglas Cheung) deserve a lot of credit for the success of the symposium. In addition to presenting great talks and posters, they did an outstanding job hosting and introducing our distinguished guests and coordinating journal clubs in advance of this event.

Thanks again to Thomas Hyle and Zack Mikesell for their hard work in helping to organize this event.